And So…Let The Adventures Begin

“One final paragraph of advice: do not burn yourselves out. Be as I am – a reluctant enthusiast….a part-time crusader, a half-hearted fanatic. Save the other half of yourselves and your lives for pleasure and adventure. It is not enough to fight for the land; it is even more important to enjoy it. While you can. While it’s still here. So get out there and hunt and fish and mess around with your friends, ramble out yonder and explore the forests, climb the mountains, bag the peaks, run the rivers, breathe deep of that yet sweet and lucid air, sit quietly for a while and contemplate the precious stillness, the lovely, mysterious, and awesome space. Enjoy yourselves, keep your brain in your head and your head firmly attached to the body, the body active and alive, and I promise you this much; I promise you this one sweet victory over our enemies, over those desk-bound men and women with their hearts in a safe deposit box, and their eyes hypnotized by desk calculators. I promise you this; You will outlive the bastards.”
― Edward Abbey


I love this quote….

What a rich inspiration as we enter into this season of doing. I’m sure along with the rest of you, I get stuck in the confines of the comfort zone, the confines of what we accept as boring ol’ real life. We allow the idea of reality to have connotations of “stifling” and “repetitive”. For some stupid reason, I allow myself to use it as an excuse for not putting in that effort to court adventure. Um…what?

  Yesterday, my mom was telling me of her recent adventures across the ocean to visit my sister, and of my sister’s many adventures since she’s flown the nest. I am so excited and so happy for each of them,  getting to do and see what they have, fulfilling dreams. But at the same time, I was tinged with a bit of jealousy. I found myself looking over at my own life and simply wasn’t as impressed. And now I’m, admittedly, a little sheepish about it. First of all, I was forgetting all of the amazing experiences I’ve had and amazing places I’ve seen. Second of all, this life ain’t over yet, and I’m in the driver’s seat.

Don’t compare your bucket list with anyone else’s. However, don’t allow yourself to be constrained by your bucket list either. It’s great to have big goals and crazy pipe dreams. It’s wonderfully rewarding to work towards them and at them and accomplish them. But don’t overlook and undervalue the smaller opportunities for adventure that are right under your feet. You’re not going to be able to travel to a different continent every year or do exhilarating things like jump out of airplanes or raft down the Colorado or climb Machu Pichu every day, every week, every month. But that doesn’t mean you can’t still have adventures in your own backyard and reap just as much fulfillment from them.

Let Abbey’s words inspire you. You never know where it will take you!


We are starting to feel the momentum in our lives for our little family looking ahead on the horizon of the next couple months. We have some fun things planned with some fun people. I’m excited to get moving, and determined not to let the interim periods between adventures take any sort of toll on the spirit of the adventure!

Here are some favorites of late:

Little gifts

DSC_1523

Loving notes from the husband, a little color to welcome in the spring, and of course, wine 🙂

Planning and executing outdoor projects

DSC_1527

One of my projects of late is building a picket fence around our house garden. While it’s not an enormous area, this is my first time solo on a project of this type (though I’m trying not to be too proud to ask D for a little insight when it’s needed). I oscillate between feelings of euphoria at my chipping away at a fun challenge and a tisch of fear that I may just fall flat on my face with this one. I’ll post the journey when it’s all completed!

Welcoming these boots back into the wardrobe  rotation and this color back under my feet

DSC_1546

Hanging out in one of my favorite places

DSC_1539

Mom’s home library/office.

Life goals.

Maintaining inside jokes with my sis, even thousands of miles apart

DSC_1556

Saving money the old fashioned way

DSC_1555

And of course, finally meeting one of those things we are saving for…

fourhalfweeks1

pickout day2

Jack will always hold a very special place in my heart that none will replace. But after you have allowed yourself to grieve, you must allow yourself to move ahead. We are so excited to bring little Patrick home in a month!

After much discussion as to how we wanted to go forward,  we were fortunate to find a responsible and wonderful breeder with whom we have been working with over the last couple of months in the quest for our new little family member. Yesterday was puppy pick-out day – when all of the puppies new families get to come out, meet the parents, see their home, and of course, pick out which puppy they will be bringing home in a month.

In addition to getting to meet our new fur baby, it was just an enjoyable day all around, getting to spend it with my mom and my husband on a nice daytrip/road trip, taking time to just slow down – lunching at a surprisingly delicious local deli, walking around window shopping, checking out antique stores, and just having good quality time.

The day was topped off at home with a bonfire, some grilled steaks and vegetables,  and a round of cards with some good friends. It was a very blessed and memorable day.

It is moments like these that make a life lived.

2 thoughts on “And So…Let The Adventures Begin

  1. Yeah, he does have some cool markings actually! The pictures don’t quite show them well. His are pretty light, but the will darken as he gets older. He’s what the call a lemon and white or bicolor beagle, so something a little different. We bring him home in 3 weeks 😍😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

